Huawei Ascend 970
Overview
Roadmap chip announced at Huawei Connect 2025 (September 2025). Specs based on Huawei's public roadmap disclosure; not yet shipping. The Ascend 970 is the farthest chip on Huawei's published roadmap, targeting Q4 2028. It doubles the 960's throughput again to 4 PFLOPS FP8 / 8 PFLOPS FP4 dense and pairs it with 288 GB of memory at 14.4 TB/s and a 4.0 TB/s scale-up interconnect - comparable in headline throughput to NVIDIA's Blackwell-successor generation. Memory technology, TDP, and detailed precision rates have not yet been disclosed.
Performance
Peak theoretical throughput by precision type
| Precision | Peak |
|---|---|
FP64 | No verified data available |
FP32 | No verified data available |
TF32 | No verified data available |
BF16 Brain Float 16 | 2,000TFLOPS |
FP16 16-bit floating point | 2,000TFLOPS |
FP8 8-bit floating point | 4,000TFLOPS |
FP6 | No verified data available |
FP4 4-bit floating point | 8,000TFLOPS |
INT8 | No verified data available |
Specifications
Architecture
Da Vinci v5
Form Factor
OAM
Launch Year
2028
Process Node
No verified data available
Memory
288 GB
Bandwidth
14,400 GB/s
TDP
No verified data available
Max power
No verified data available
Interconnect
4.0 TB/s Unified Bus 3.0
direction and scope not stated by vendor
Spec Confidence
Vendor claimed
Full Specifications
| Memory | |
|---|---|
| Memory | 288 GB |
| Memory Type | No verified data available |
| Bandwidth | 14.4 TB/s |
| Interface Width | No verified data available |
| Interconnect & I/O | |
| GPU-to-GPU | Unified Bus 3.0 |
| Interconnect Bandwidth | 4.0 TB/s direction and scope not stated by vendor |
| Power & Thermal | |
| TDP | No verified data available |
| Max power | No verified data available |
| General | |
| Form Factor | OAM |
| Architecture | Da Vinci v5 |
| Process Node | No verified data available |
| Launch Year | 2028 |
Datasheet & Resources
Flopper Datasheet
Huawei Ascend 970 specifications, generated from our database. Printable.
Huawei details its AI chip roadmap through 2028
Tom's Hardware · 2025-09-19
Huawei Ascend Developer Documentation
CANN guides, MindSpore, Da Vinci
Data Provenance
Every figure traced to a source
Primary Source
- Publisher
- Tom's Hardware
- Published
- 2025-09-19
Data Quality
- Spec confidence
- Vendor claimed
- Clock basis
- Boost
- Core precisions with figures
- 4 of 9
- Normalization
- All values in TFLOPS
Compare cloud providers offering on-demand GPU instances for AI training, inference, and HPC workloads.
Browse GPU Cloud ProvidersFrequently Asked Questions
How many TFLOPS does the Huawei Ascend 970 have?
The Huawei Ascend 970 delivers 2,000 TFLOPS FP16 and 4,000 TFLOPS FP8 at peak. Flopper does not currently have a verified FP32 throughput figure for it.
What is the power consumption of the Huawei Ascend 970?
Flopper does not currently have a verified TDP (Thermal Design Power) figure for the Huawei Ascend 970.
How much memory does the Huawei Ascend 970 have?
The Huawei Ascend 970 is equipped with 288 GB of memory with 14,400 GB/s of memory bandwidth.
What architecture is the Huawei Ascend 970 based on?
The Huawei Ascend 970 is based on the Da Vinci v5 architecture, launched in 2028.
Stay Updated on GPU Releases
Get notified when new GPUs are added or specifications are updated.
No spam, unsubscribe anytime.