AWS sells Inferentia only as EC2 Inf1 capacity, never as a component, so form factor, TDP and list price are deliberately empty. AWS has since moved inference to Inferentia2 and Trainium, but Inf1 instances remain listed.
AWS logo

AWS Inferentia

Type: ASICArchitecture: NeuronCore-v1Released: 2018Spec confidence: Official
Memory
8 GB
DDR4
Bandwidth
50 GB/s
memory

Overview

Inferentia is the first machine learning chip AWS designed itself, announced at re:Invent 2018 and the part behind EC2 Inf1 instances from December 2019. Each chip is four NeuronCore-v1 cores rated by AWS at 64 TFLOPS of FP16 or BF16 and 128 TOPS of INT8, with 8 GB of DDR4 at 50 GB/s and a large pool of on-chip SRAM the compiler uses to keep weights close to the cores. It handles only FP16, BF16 and INT8; FP32, TF32 and the configurable FP8 arrived with Inferentia2, along with HBM in place of DDR4, which is where Inferentia2's ten-fold memory bandwidth gain comes from. NeuronLink-v1 at 32 GB/s per chip lets the sixteen chips of an inf1.24xlarge be pipelined so one model can be split across several of them. Inferentia is a cost-per-inference part, sold only as EC2 capacity, and AWS publishes no power figure, process node or die size for it.

Performance

Peak theoretical throughput by precision type

PrecisionPeak
FP64
No verified data available
FP32
No verified data available
TF32
No verified data available
BF16
Brain Float 16
64TFLOPS
FP16
16-bit floating point
64TFLOPS
FP8
No verified data available
FP6
No verified data available
FP4
No verified data available
INT8
8-bit integer
128TOPS

Specifications

Architecture

NeuronCore-v1

Form Factor

No verified data available

Launch Year

2018

Process Node

No verified data available

Memory

8 GB DDR4

Bandwidth

50 GB/s

TDP

No verified data available

Max power

No verified data available

Interconnect

32 GB/s NeuronLink-v1

direction and scope not stated by vendor

NeuronCore-v1

4

Spec Confidence

Official

Full Specifications

Compute Engine
NeuronCore-v1 4
Memory
Memory 8 GB
Memory Type DDR4
Bandwidth 50 GB/s
Interface Width No verified data available
Interconnect & I/O
GPU-to-GPU NeuronLink-v1
Interconnect Bandwidth 32 GB/s direction and scope not stated by vendor
Power & Thermal
TDP No verified data available
Max power No verified data available
General
Form Factor No verified data available
Architecture NeuronCore-v1
Process Node No verified data available
Launch Year 2018

Datasheet & Resources

Data Provenance

Every figure traced to a source

Primary Source

Publisher
AWS
Published
No verified data available

Data Quality

Spec confidence
Official
Clock basis
Boost
Core precisions with figures
3 of 9
Normalization
All values in TFLOPS

Compare cloud providers offering on-demand GPU instances for AI training, inference, and HPC workloads.

Browse GPU Cloud Providers

Frequently Asked Questions

How many TFLOPS does the AWS Inferentia have?

The AWS Inferentia delivers 64 TFLOPS FP16 at peak. Flopper does not currently have verified FP32 and FP8 throughput figures for it.

What is the power consumption of the AWS Inferentia?

Flopper does not currently have a verified TDP (Thermal Design Power) figure for the AWS Inferentia.

How much memory does the AWS Inferentia have?

The AWS Inferentia is equipped with 8 GB of memory with 50 GB/s of memory bandwidth.

What architecture is the AWS Inferentia based on?

The AWS Inferentia is based on the NeuronCore-v1 architecture, launched in 2018.

How much does the AWS Inferentia cost to rent?

Flopper is not tracking any live rental listings for the AWS Inferentia. The provider directory lists the clouds that rent comparable accelerators on demand.

When did the AWS Inferentia come out?

The AWS Inferentia launched in 2018 on the NeuronCore-v1 architecture.

Stay Updated on GPU Releases

Get notified when new GPUs are added or specifications are updated.

Loading verification...

No spam, unsubscribe anytime.

Back to GPUs

© 2026 Flopper.io - Compare the GPUs Powering AI