Captive silicon. Jalapeño runs only inside OpenAI's own infrastructure and cannot be rented or bought. Figures come from OpenAI's Hot Chips 2026 specification slide for pre-production silicon, so this page is recorded as vendor claimed. OpenAI plans to start deploying it by the end of 2026, with Broadcom targeting 1.3 GW in 2027. The 700 W figure is the package rating; OpenAI measured sustained power at or below 550 W on the workloads it tested.
OpenAI logo

OpenAI Jalapeño NEW

Type: ASICArchitecture: JalapeñoForm factor: CustomAnnounced: 2026Status: Announced, not shippingSpec confidence: Vendor claimed
FP8 (dense)
3,400
TFLOPS
Memory
216 GB
HBM4
Bandwidth
15.4 TB/s
memory
TDP
700 W

Overview

OpenAI Jalapeño is the first accelerator OpenAI has designed itself, an inference-only chip built with Broadcom and unveiled in June 2026. OpenAI's Hot Chips 2026 specification slide gives it 13.4 PFLOPS of MXFP4 matrix compute and 3.4 PFLOPS of MXFP8, 216 GiB of HBM4 on six stacks at 15.4 TB/s, and a 700 W package. The FP4 rate is four times the FP8 rate rather than the usual two, which tells you where OpenAI spent its silicon: on low-precision inference, not training. The design keeps model state, including the KV cache, next to the compute that uses it, and scales over Ethernet through Broadcom Tomahawk 6 switches rather than NVLink: 128 chips share a 600 GB/s local domain and up to 2,048 chips form one system. OpenAI's own InferenceX results put it at 1.5 to 1.9 times the throughput per watt of NVIDIA GB200 and GB300 systems on open models. Those are OpenAI's numbers on early silicon. You cannot rent or buy Jalapeño; it will serve ChatGPT, Codex and the OpenAI API, and its effect on buyers is through what OpenAI charges for inference.

Performance

Peak theoretical throughput by precision type

PrecisionPeak
FP64
No verified data available
FP32
No verified data available
TF32
No verified data available
BF16
Brain Float 16
No verified data available
FP16
No verified data available
FP8
8-bit floating point
3,400TFLOPS
FP6
No verified data available
FP4
4-bit floating point
13,400TFLOPS
INT8
No verified data available

Specifications

Architecture

Jalapeño

Form Factor

Custom

Launch Year

2026

Process Node

No verified data available

Memory

216 GB HBM4

Bandwidth

15,400 GB/s

TDP

700 W

Max power (Flopper estimate)

~805 W est. Flopper estimate: 700 W TDP x 1.15. The vendor publishes no maximum board power for this part.

Interconnect

600 GB/s Ethernet scale-up (Broadcom Tomahawk 6)

direction and scope not stated by vendor

Spec Confidence

Vendor claimed

Full Specifications

Chip Design
Chiplets 2 (1 compute die + 1 IO chiplet)
Memory
Memory 216 GB
Memory Type HBM4
Bandwidth 15.4 TB/s
Interface Width No verified data available
HBM Stacks 6
Interconnect & I/O
GPU-to-GPU Ethernet scale-up (Broadcom Tomahawk 6)
Interconnect Bandwidth 600 GB/s direction and scope not stated by vendor
Power & Thermal
TDP 700 W
Max power (Flopper estimate) ~805 W est.
General
Form Factor Custom
Architecture Jalapeño
Process Node No verified data available
Launch Year 2026

Datasheet & Resources

Flopper Datasheet

OpenAI Jalapeño specifications, generated from our database. Printable.

OpenAI Jalapeno Custom AI ASIC at Hot Chips 2026 (ServeTheHome)

ServeTheHome · 2026-08-25

View

Data Provenance

Every figure traced to a source

Primary Source

Publisher
ServeTheHome
Published
2026-08-25

Data Quality

Spec confidence
Vendor claimed
Clock basis
Boost
Core precisions with figures
2 of 9
Normalization
All values in TFLOPS

Compare cloud providers offering on-demand GPU instances for AI training, inference, and HPC workloads.

Browse GPU Cloud Providers

Similar GPUs

NVIDIA B100 SXM 192GB

SXM · 2024
FP32: 60 TFLOPS
Compare vs B100

Frequently Asked Questions

How many TFLOPS does the OpenAI Jalapeño have?

The OpenAI Jalapeño delivers 3,400 TFLOPS FP8 at peak. Flopper does not currently have verified FP32 and FP16 throughput figures for it.

What is the power consumption of the OpenAI Jalapeño?

The OpenAI Jalapeño has a TDP (Thermal Design Power) rating of 700 watts.

How much memory does the OpenAI Jalapeño have?

The OpenAI Jalapeño is equipped with 216 GB of memory with 15,400 GB/s of memory bandwidth.

What architecture is the OpenAI Jalapeño based on?

The OpenAI Jalapeño is based on the Jalapeño architecture, launched in 2026.

How much does the OpenAI Jalapeño cost to rent?

Flopper is not tracking any live rental listings for the OpenAI Jalapeño. The provider directory lists the clouds that rent comparable accelerators on demand.

When did the OpenAI Jalapeño come out?

OpenAI announced the OpenAI Jalapeño for 2026 on the Jalapeño architecture. It is not yet shipping.

Stay Updated on GPU Releases

Get notified when new GPUs are added or specifications are updated.

Loading verification...

No spam, unsubscribe anytime.

Back to GPUs

© 2026 Flopper.io - Compare the GPUs Powering AI